The Demon in the Spare Bedroom

Yesterday was interesting…

Some friends of mine in Pueblo Colorado are moving to Tennessee for health reasons and we wanted to give them one last visit before they left. They have two dogs and a 7 month old kitten. The dogs are fine but the people they will be staying with are allergic to cats. Wendy informed us that she was unable to locate a local no kill shelter that would take cats. Jonette and I know of a no kill shelter here in Denver and agreed to take the little tortie kitten with us Sunday afternoon. We both figured that we could at worst bring the kitten to the shelter but hoped that we could integrate the kitten into our home.

The kitten is fine with dogs. The kitten is fine with young children carrying her around all day. The kitten is also fine with people. I figured she would be ok in our home with a bit of time adjusting to Catzilla, Yoshi and o.OWafflesO.o.

I asked if they had a cat carrier and the answer was no but I was handed a cardboard apple box. I proceeded to punch holes in the box, please note, always create air holes in the box before the animal is in said box. After a short search the kitten was located and placed in the box. I was also given her litter box, a big container of litter, her food bowl and a couple toys.

As soon as the kitten was loaded in the car she erupted out of her container, Jonette got into the back seat with the kitten and we left for the hour and a half drive home. I had not gone more than 2 miles before the kitty crawled over my shoulder and into my lap where she started furiously licking my hand and arm. Jonette had me pull over and she got into the front seat to care for the kitten. The kitten moved over to Jonette’s lap where she proceeded to pant, lick and drool all over her for the entire trip home.

I had to stop at a gas station to get water for the kitty. She ignored the water and continued to drool furiously. I should have known that things were going to good. Jonette has the kitten in her arms and as soon as we open the door to our home…

Kitty instantly flies into a screaming, hissing, yowling, and growling feral rage. The other cats stood there with their eyes wide open. “What the hell is that!?!?!” Waffles evaporated and was not seen for an hour. Yoshi slunk around the house in combat cat mode for the next 15 minutes. Catzilla was “you are going to feed me right?” We got the little ball of rage into the spare bedroom with some gooshy food, water and her litter box. Jonette and I proceeded to pile pillows and blankets against the door. Demon kitten took post under a table in the spare bedroom and refused to touch the food, water, or her litter box.

I have introduced cats before but I have never seen a reaction so violent.

Jonette decided to spend the night with demon kitty. She went into the room and piled more blankets and pillows inside the door; I replaced the barricade on the outside and prayed for her safety. I woke up in the morning, checked on Jonette. She reported that the kitten spent the night curled up next to her growling and licking Jonette’s hand and arm. The kitten had still not eaten any food, drank any water or used her litter box. The kitten also refused to leave the bed.

Knowing that Jonette and the kitten were ok I jumped in the shower. Jonette showed up, bombed the oval office and headed back to the spare bedroom. I hear her scream “NO” followed by more feline screeching and yowling. I watch Yoshi dive under the bed so I jump from the shower and into the hallway. I see that Jonette has cornered the demon kitty on the stairs. Waffles is nowhere to be seen and Zilla is also on the stairs just looking at them both. I reach down and lightly scruff the kitten as Jonette runs to get a cat carrier. I force the kitten in the carrier and when Jonette tries to latch the cage, the kitten tries to maul her. I tell her to grab a glove and I will lock the cage.

I put the demon kitty back in the spare bedroom but I do not let that yowling ball of terror out of the carrier. This is not going to work. I have integrated scared cats but this little girl was batshit frightened. 2 of our cats were frightened, I think Catzilla is just not smart enough to be scared, he just wanted his food.

Demon kitty is no longer in the spare bedroom; the rescue place will find someone to properly socialize her. She is a young kitty so she will find a good home without the need for an old priest and a young priest.

About ikcewicasa

Ikcewicasa means common man in Lakota. I guess that describes me. I am turning 40 next year. I have a college degree and I have a professional job. The blog is just random stuff. I try and keep most of my posts humorous in nature sprinkled with a bit of American Indian items, soundtracks (which I love), food (something I also love) and movies (when I have the money and time to go see them. so basically ramblings that rattle around in my mind. Hope you enjoy. Like what you read? comment and re post. don't like what you read, let me know as well. ALL STORIES ON THIS SITE ARE ABSOLUTELY TRUE... EXCEPT THE PARTS I MAKE UP!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

