The Mohawk Diaries

For my handful of readers I apologize for my absence the past few months. My dear wife was diagnosed with breast cancer and we both have been dealing with that bit of news. Jonette is doing fine and her prognosis is excellent she has had her mastectomy and reconstruction and is starting her chemo therapy. In order to support her I decided that I would shave my head as well. It has been 1 week since I took the razor out and Jonette suggested that instead of shaving my head she give me a mohawk.

The last time I had any serious haircut is back in high school, since then I have worked to keep my hair as long as possible. Sadly this had created a rather pathetic short pony tail due to my hair being rather thin and fragile. It has served me well for the past 20 years and my comfort with having long hair has grown just as much as my disgust at not having the hair that I really want. To my great horror I have also started going bald.

Ok sure give me the mohawk.

I went through some serious mental trauma as more and more of my precious hair ended up on the counter. I was unsure if I wanted the back of the cut still long and made the snap decision to cut it off and I will decide later. I am now going to let the back grow long again as a base for tying feathers into my hair when I need to do so. Note to self, do not make decisions in the middle of traumatic situations. It will take months for my hair to grow long enough for my needs.

In a matter of minutes I went from long haired hippy to mohawk punk with the buzzing soundtrack of a pair of home clippers. Jonette was afraid people would think I was a skin head. I assured her that no skin head would ever wear a Mohawk. The idea of a skin head wearing an American Indian hair style still makes me giggle a bit.

So what is it like to sport an old traditional warrior hairstyle in 2012….

  1. Mohawks are a pain in the ass to maintain. So far I have shaved my head about every 3 days. I could probably go longer but right now that seems to be my limit. Shaving is a two person job so Jonette is in on the fun. I have also managed to nick my left ear twice. No it does not hurt just a light tug and “BLUD!” The traditional way of maintaining a mohawk or scalp lock was to pluck the hair out, so I have it easy.
  2. It is just turning cold here; keeping my head warm has been a challenge. My mother said she would knit a cap for me. I just had to suggest Jayne’s cunning orange knitted cap that he received from his mom in the Firefly TV series. Imagine my disappointment when mom replied that she does not know how to do the ear flaps. boooooooo
  3. Friends and coworkers have been surprisingly supportive of my new hairstyle.
  4. Fellow riders on light rail have not been as supportive, but as a bonus I now get my own seat on the train in the morning.
  5. The style has made me “distinctive” and I get more attention from the political activists on the 16th street mall here in Denver.

     

All in all I am really liking the hawk; yes it makes me look more edgy but I am the same loveable ball of fluff. My friends are getting used to the look. One serious personal downside is that over the week I have discovered how much I would run my fingers through my hair or pull on the pony tail to self soothe. We all have our little ticks and well that was one of mine. Sometimes I feel like Linus without his blanket. I still reach around and grab the back of the hawk still expecting to find my pony tail.

I will probably keep the mowhak till next year, maybe longer. In truth it is 90% support for Jonette, who spent most of last night pulling out handfuls of her hair, and 10% midlife crisis.

About ikcewicasa

Ikcewicasa means common man in Lakota. I guess that describes me. I am turning 40 next year. I have a college degree and I have a professional job. The blog is just random stuff. I try and keep most of my posts humorous in nature sprinkled with a bit of American Indian items, soundtracks (which I love), food (something I also love) and movies (when I have the money and time to go see them. so basically ramblings that rattle around in my mind. Hope you enjoy. Like what you read? comment and re post. don't like what you read, let me know as well. ALL STORIES ON THIS SITE ARE ABSOLUTELY TRUE... EXCEPT THE PARTS I MAKE UP!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Mohawk Diaries

  1. It’s o.OWafflesO.o!!!
    You look great. Much love to both you and Jonette. I’m tellin’ ya, get some temporary tats and cool-looking doo-rags….

  2. Maddy says:

    I think you look great too! I have heard that hair growing back will be thicker than what had been shaved. Maybe you’ll get that thick ponytail yet! Take care and much love to you and Jonette.

Leave a Reply

