Native American Heritage Month

Ok I am going to try something out this month, since November is Native American Heritage Month. I will try to do as many mini Indian themed posts as I can. I am however asking, neigh pleading with my readers to give me ideas. Audience participation will be key or this will sputter and die a horrible flaming death.

As with anything I have to set a few ground rules.

  1. I do not know everything, sometimes my answer will be “I have no idea”
  2. Sometimes I may know the answer but I will not tell you, this will usually be in regards to ceremony. Sorry but some things are just off limits in a public place.

So send me some emails, make some comments. Let me know you are alive out there.

About ikcewicasa

Ikcewicasa means common man in Lakota. I guess that describes me. I am turning 40 next year. I have a college degree and I have a professional job. The blog is just random stuff. I try and keep most of my posts humorous in nature sprinkled with a bit of American Indian items, soundtracks (which I love), food (something I also love) and movies (when I have the money and time to go see them. so basically ramblings that rattle around in my mind. Hope you enjoy. Like what you read? comment and re post. don't like what you read, let me know as well. ALL STORIES ON THIS SITE ARE ABSOLUTELY TRUE... EXCEPT THE PARTS I MAKE UP!
This entry was posted in Native Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Native American Heritage Month

  1. I know you wrote about buffalo before, but I’d like at least one post about traditional foods. Not just buffalo or fry bread (mmmmm to both! Thanks to you, I’ve tried them.) but more unusual fare that we may not know about. Maybe a recipe or two?

  2. Rukia says:

    I would think “Important Native Americans throughout history” poastes would be interesting although it may require some research on your part (not sure how much work you want to put into this) or perhaps Native American dishes. A bit of “how to” with a list of ingredients.

  3. ikcewicasa says:

    OK first post…. food.

    that is good.

    anything else?

  4. Cantus says:

    OK, so did all Indians get along with each other, did you fight among yourselves? How did you get vegetables and other necessities that you needed to survive? How big was your tribe originally?

  5. David "kvrdave" says:

    Knowing mostly about Native Americans along the Columbia River, I’d love to see if there are similarities in art, such as petroglyphs.

  6. Stacy says:

    You should point out some learn more resources and a few good museums… like the Museum of Northern Arizona for example. 😉

  7. Minifigg says:

    What do you think about the Native American Arts movement? There is a real thrust to enrich our cultural map with Native Americans telling stories using new media as well as film and theater.

    In LA we have the following:
    Native Voices at the Autry. (Plays written by Native Americans and performed by them as well.)
    http://theautry.org/whats-here/theater-native-voices
    My Friend Arigon Starr also makes her own theater and is AMAZING.
    http://www.arigonstarr.com/
    If you don’t know her work, you should!

    We are also seeing more Native American films and film fests.
    LA is having these this month:
    http://www.laskinsfest.com/
    http://rednationfilmfestival.com/

    Also, my Mom has always collected Kachina dolls. When I was 2, I even ate one (Or most of one) she had. Obviously, I survived it. Lately, I have heard there is some backlash to white folks collecting them and many N.A artisans have stopped making them. Whassupwitdat?

    I love N.A carved fetishes. I collect primarily bears. I notice a lot of new fetishes are being carved with other less “sacred” images being used (Pandas? Snowmen?) is this a problem? What can you tell me about fetishes?

    I am also a HUGE fan of Pacisfic Northwest Indian art. What common threads run throughout the various native peoples and the artwork they produce?

Leave a Reply

