Blizzards, Broncos, and Miami?

BLIZZARD

Between Oct 24th and 29th in 1997 14 to 31 inches of snow fell in the Denver metro area. I believe my area got 27 inches of windswept snow. The resulting 4 foot drift in my driveway was not pleasant. The problem with snow in October is that it is not a fine powder but a heavy wet cement type snow. Of course it was my job to clear the driveway. I got the shovel out and started to work.

A short time after initiating my attack on the great white wall the garage door on the house across the street opened. The people living in the house had arrived from Florida just a few months previous. Their red pickup truck eased out of the garage and blasted through their drift. He gunned the engine and fishtailed up the road and out of sight. I figured since they had just arrived from Florida they were out to get snow gear like a shovel. I went back to my seemingly endless task. Dig, lift, grunt, toss grunt again and repeat.

I had the driveway about 50% complete when the neighbor’s red truck came into view. It fishtailed down the road and came to a stop in front of his house. The neighbor got out of the cab and lowered the tailgate. He proceeded to extract the biggest snow thrower I have ever seen from the bed of the pickup. I was still walled in by the drift so I was unable to assist him. He got the thing on the ground and pulled the starter cord.

RAAAAAAAAAWR the monster sprang into life.

The front scoop on the thing was nearly 3 feet high and 5 feet wide. He made very quick work of his driveway and came over and asked if he could assist me. “By all means, have at it!” I dove out of the way as the monster snow thrower dragged him from one side of my driveway to the other. I think the snow landed 3 counties away. I kept thinking of the big railroad rotary snowplows. He made short work of my driveway and sidewalks and I thanked him for helping me out. I was cold and very wet by that time and I went inside to warm up and tell Jonette about what had happened. Everything seemed fine.

Not so fast

A couple weeks later, the snow had melted quickly and it was a distant memory. I was doing my standard chores and was collecting trash. I accidently dropped an empty trash bag on the floor and bent over to pick it up. It was nearly a month before I could stand upright again. I had somehow twisted my tailbone and it had fused. The pain was excruciating and it took a month of therapy sessions to get my tailbone unstuck. I still have problems with it to this day. It will twist and lock, even though the condition causes pain it has never been as bad as the first incident.

Go Broncos!

During the early part of my healing I was laid out on the living room floor flat on my back. Jonette said I could watch anything I wanted and I had not seen a Bronco game in ages and I said I was going to watch some football.. Jonette was not a fan of football but she let me watch the game and started asking questions.

I am not an expert on football but I started explaining a bit about what was going on. Jonette is highly competitive and I had a feeling that she could become a big fan. Well with the Broncos tearing up their opponents and Jonette learning the simple basic goals of the game. A team gets the ball and they have 4 tries to move the ball 10 yards, that kind of basic stuff. The end of the season and playoffs continued and I instructed Jonette in some more basics. By the time the Broncos pulled out the win in Super Bowl XXXII Jonette was a foaming at the mouth fan. She even learned to hate the Raiders in a few short months.

 

Super Bowl XXXIII

The next season Jonette purchased a few tickets on the open market, she even sprung for tickets to the Raiders game. She stood in line for playoff tickets and we got seats for every local playoff game. We probably had the worst seats in the old Mile High Stadium for the AFC championship game against the Jets. The Broncos won the game and they were going back to the Super Bowl, I have never seen Jonette so excited. Later in the week she asked me where the Super Bowl was being played and I told her it was in Miami. “When is it?” she enquired. I told her it would be played on Jan 31st. I saw her jaw drop, what is wrong I asked. She then informed me that she would be in Orlando that weekend for a work conference and that there was no way she was going to be that close and not go to the game. It was my turn to drop my jaw. Are you serious? Do you have any idea what Super Bowl tickets cost? I don’t care, she replied, how do I get tickets? I am not sure where she got them but if I remember they were fifteen hundred a piece and the credit card company called us to make sure that the charge was legitimate.

Game Plan.

Jonette would already be in Orlando for the work conference, so she arranged to stay at the hotel for Friday and Saturday night. I would fly into Orlando with all the Bronco and assorted game gear, and the set of large sheep bells that I use for my dance outfit. I would meet up with Jonette and we would leave Orlando early on Sunday morning and drive down to Miami and attend the game. I put all the Bronco “repeat the feat” cards in the window and headed south on I4.

In perfect Dave and Jonette road trip tradition we get to Miami and we both realize that neither one of us has any clue where Pro Player Stadium is. I decide to start scanning the sky looking for blimps and other aircraft. I figured I would see those and head for them. Jonette soon found another rental car with “repeat the feat” window cards. Follow them I said. We finally pulled up alongside and asked where the stadium was. They said follow us!

Getting In.

We park at the stadium and walk up to the gate indicated on our tickets. We get there and the tickets are legit. I was worried that we had purchased bad tickets but my relief was short lived. The bag checker saw my sheep bell anklets and said “I can’t let you in with those” Damnit! Are you kidding me, they are just sheep bells, I can’t hurt anyone with them. I told the security person that I would go and put them in my car. Jonette started to have a conniption fit as I pulled her away. She turned her wrath on me. “We are not going all the way back to the car!!!!” I said of course I am not going back to the car are you crazy? I opened the bag and put the sheep bells at the bottom and headed for a different gate. The so dangerous sheep bells were not discovered and we were allowed entrance.

 

 

End Game.

The Broncos easily defeated the Atlanta Falcons. We sat in a section full of Bronco fans. It almost felt like a home game. It was great. Two Super Bowl wins in a row. It was sweet after watching the Broncos lose 3 previous big games. I felt bad for the Falcons fans. They looked pretty dejected and I understand why. It was nice that Dan Reeves was finally able to coach a game that allowed the Broncos to win, he was the coach of the Falcons at the time.

I do not think I will ever get to see another Super Bowl, it is a fantastic experience. And thanks to a hellish snow storm, and the resulting injury Jonette became a Bronco fan and I got to attend a Super Bowl in person. That rocks pretty hard. Why am I thinking of all this now? It was nearly 80 degrees yesterday, a new record high for the day. Today is cooler and just recently the sky became overcast. We are expecting a pretty big snow event tonight and tomorrow. 4 – 8 inches of snow is expected in the Denver Metro area, 10 to 15 south of town where I live at. It is not unusual for heavy snow in October.

The difference is that we are not expecting high winds and I live in a townhouse where snow removal is included. I have only a very short sidewalk to clear and no driveway anymore. Let it snow!

About ikcewicasa

Ikcewicasa means common man in Lakota. I guess that describes me. I am turning 40 next year. I have a college degree and I have a professional job. The blog is just random stuff. I try and keep most of my posts humorous in nature sprinkled with a bit of American Indian items, soundtracks (which I love), food (something I also love) and movies (when I have the money and time to go see them. so basically ramblings that rattle around in my mind. Hope you enjoy. Like what you read? comment and re post. don't like what you read, let me know as well. ALL STORIES ON THIS SITE ARE ABSOLUTELY TRUE... EXCEPT THE PARTS I MAKE UP!
This entry was posted in Does this smell funny to you?. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

