Ewoks Don’t Blink!

Did you know that? I certainly didn’t until earlier today. Even after multiple watchings of Return of the Jedi I never noticed that about Ewoks. If you are a Doctor Who fan then you are possibly thinking that having an Ewok around would be a great defense against the Angels and it will be at least for a bit longer. There were lots of other things I noticed though, none of them good. They are cute and fluffy and that goes to the heart of what is wrong with them. Not that cute and fluffy is bad, it just seemed unnecessary for a Star Wars film

The reason I learned that Ewoks do not blink is because Star Wars will be released on the bluray format shortly. A new release of Star Wars inevitably means that George Lucas gets to fix and tinker a bit more with his creation. In the new editions the Ewoks will blink, all of you can relax now, unless there is a statue of an angel behind you. If that is the case good luck, you are going to need it. Why could they not just take a sledge hammer to those things? I have not seen the episode but I watch BBC America and I know a bit about them. What Ewoks? Star Wars and George Lucas? Ok back to them.

I have never been one of those hard core fans that have cried childhood rape every time Lucas has made a change to his films. I must admit the whole Han Guido bar fight change was more than a bit odd. And I liked some of the enhanced special effects, some of them. Ok the Jabba scene in A New Hope was quite silly as well; man did he get huge by Return of the Jedi. Maybe I am not as OK with it as I am trying to convince myself that I am. I am usually pretty good at self-delusion so I think I need to work on that a bit more.

I did grow up with Star Wars and it has had a tremendous impact on my life. The reason I am a huge fan of orchestral film scores is because as I youngling my mother was part of a Columbia House music club. One month she forgot to send in the “I do not want to order any of your crappy music this month” cards and so we received an 8 Track recording of the Star Wars score. Dude sweet! I loved it, my mother hated it but she let me keep it. My favorite track is Binary Sunset if anyone is interested. The other Star Wars item I had growing up was one of those old school metal lunch boxes. I liked that lunch box a lot. I never had any of the awesome toys, my friends had those so I just mooched off them at playtime.

My favorite Star Wars moment is not from my childhood. It was the release of Episode I. Yep I was crazy for it… woooo more Star Wars! I waited in line for 36 hours to get tickets. I had an absolute blast. I was one of several hundred people in line. Everyone was awesome and there were no issues. A local radio station bought us all pizzas. The pizza guy drove up in a little hatchback stuffed with pizza and we all got some. I was not in costume or anything else but somehow ended up on every local news channel that night. One of my friends was commenting on the line during the news “Hey who would be stupid enough to… oh is that Ikce?” Yea it was me. I scored my tickets for the first midnight showing. The day of the movie we all spent the day in line again and still having a great time.

That night Episode I was fantastic, the theater was filled with fans waving light sabers. Someone brought one of those cheap inner tube swim toys and we were all playing ring toss and using light sabers to catch it. There were beach balls and more people in costumes. The lights went down and the opening scrawl came up, it was pure bedlam. It was not until the cleansing light of the next morning that I got the sense of something wrong with Star Wars. I went to see Episode I again with a regular crowd and it hit me. This movie is not very good. My enthusiasm for Star Wars has slowly dwindled from that realization. But hey it was fun and I think Lucas for the ride, the cultural icons and I thank him and John Williams for a life time love of movie scores.

I can say this. I am certainly not upset with any further changes. I am not even sure I will be seeing them. I like my dvd set of the original trilogy even if the Ewoks don’t blink. I wonder what a franchise for eye drops on Endor would run me?

I know we all have something to say about Star Wars. Your feelings? Memories, fond or horrible.

update

Here is proof, a clip from the new BR release and the Ewoks will now blink… here is proof.

About ikcewicasa

Ikcewicasa means common man in Lakota. I guess that describes me. I am turning 40 next year. I have a college degree and I have a professional job. The blog is just random stuff. I try and keep most of my posts humorous in nature sprinkled with a bit of American Indian items, soundtracks (which I love), food (something I also love) and movies (when I have the money and time to go see them. so basically ramblings that rattle around in my mind. Hope you enjoy. Like what you read? comment and re post. don't like what you read, let me know as well. ALL STORIES ON THIS SITE ARE ABSOLUTELY TRUE... EXCEPT THE PARTS I MAKE UP!
This entry was posted in Does this smell funny to you?, Movies & Movie Scores. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ewoks Don’t Blink!

  1. james26354 says:

    I like that the Ewoks blink. I don’t really mind the Vader “No!!!” bit. I do not like the Kenobi yodel, though. However, as long as he eventually releases the original “theatrical” versions on blu-ray, I could honestly give a rats ass what he does to his beloved 1997 Special Edition versions.

    That whole revision process of his is just a joke. I hear he drinks way too much Budweiser and that has a lot to do with it. But .. I love him anyway. And I hope he gets the medical attention he needs.

  2. EWOKS DON'T BLINK says:

Leave a Reply

