He Say, You Blade Runner

Tell him I’m eating….

I have been looking for an excuse to write a blog post about my favorite movie, Blade Runner. The problem is that with this particular film there is not much more to say that has not already been said. I ran out of reading material last week and instead of running to the library I pulled my old, and now outdated, copy of Future Noir off the shelf. My collection of books, music, and movies has been slowly paired down to nothing over the past 10 years. You just cannot eat media, no matter how much catsup you put on it. Future Noir has survived multiple purges of my beloved collection. If you are a fan of Blade Runner than I would really suggest you pick up a copy. I am sure current editions have updated information on such minor things as the discovery of Deckard’s pistol prop and the Final Cut etc. So other than me being a self-proclaimed drooling fanboi of Blade Runner the reason why I am throwing my voice into the mix is because of a bit of news that surfaced on the net today.

 

Blade Runner is an older movie and some may not have seen it. It is not my intention to make you as big of a fan of the movie as I am. Blade Runner, for many reasons is an extremely polarizing film. People love it or hate it. People can debate its meaning till the end of time and not reach a consensus. For those that really want a mental challenge they can dive into the source material, Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep, by Philip K Dick.

Blade Runner was released in 1982 after a long and contentious production. Script wars between the writers, the director, Ridley Scott was fired from the production multiple times, Harrison Ford and Sean Young were not exactly friends, the crew was pushed to the limits of endurance, and there were massive budget overruns, and studio interference. In my opinion a movie about the making of Blade Runner would make a great film. The release was met with bewilderment by studio execs, critics and audiences.

There are many possible reasons why Blade Runner failed to capture audiences in during its theatrical run. I believe one factor was that for a science fiction fan 82 was one of the best years ever, a plethora of big budget fantasy and sci-fi films were released. The list included

The sword and the sorcerer

Conan the Barbarian

Mad Max 2: The Road Warrior

Star Trek 2: The Wrath of Khan

Poltergeist

ET: The Extra Terrestrial

Tron

The Dark Crystal

Even without Blade Runner 82 was a stellar year and there was no going up against the juggernaut that was ET. Ridley Scott’s previous film Alien had done very well at the box office and the leading man Harrison Ford was a hot property after his roles in Star Wars and Indiana Jones. Audiences and critics were looking for Alien, Solo, and Indiana and they got Blade Runner. A dark, rain soaked dystopian Los Angeles, an antihero detective and a cerebral story about what makes humans human. Sneak peeks were met with confusion, the studio and producers panicked. Their response was to add a voiceover by Harrison to try to explain what the hell was going on, and a happy ending with the two main characters driving through a sun washed pristine wilderness of clean lakes, mountains and forest. Blade Runner was doomed and after release was declaired a failure by critics and movie goers.

However Blade Runner has lived on, thanks to home video releases the film has gathered an impressive amount of fans and praise. Ridley Scott was at his manic best. Creating a set and environment more detailed than his previous film Alien. The set design and special effects work continues to be a marker 30 years after its original release. It remains one of the best examples of cyber punk ever placed on the screen.

There have been many cuts of the film. A director’s cut that removes the voiceover and the sunny happy feel good ending. Not long ago a preview work print surfaced, and the most recent change was a Final Cut. All versions of the movie are now available in a collectors set. I mentioned my dwindling media collection earlier in this post, the Blade Runner collectors set has been one of the very few additions to it.

The reason I am posting this is that it appears that Ridley Scott has lost his mind. Not only is he working on a prequel/sequel or story based in the world of Alien called Prometheus, it is reported that he is ready to direct a new version or sequel or prequel to Blade Runner. There are not enough details yet on exactly what this project will look like and please excuse me if my reaction is kill it now! Kill it with fire! Destroy it before anything is written. I love the sudden creepy ambiguous ending.

Is Deckard a replicant?

Does Rachael have more than 4 years to live?

Maybe I am strange but I do not want these questions answered. The mystery, to me, is what makes the story so great and what has caused this bomb of a film to become a massive classic. I cannot even call it a cult classic. Please do not do this Ridley. I am not going to go on about how this will ruin my childhood or any other mellow dramatic stuff I just do not see what the benefit is to the original movie.

Blade Runner resources.

Link to the story that set me off http://m.deadline.com/2011/08/ridley-scott-ready-to-direct-new-version-of-seminal-sci-fi-film-blade-runner/

Blade Runner Movie http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Dmovies-tv&field-keywords=Blade+Runner&x=0&y=0

Future Noir: The Making of Blade Runner http://www.amazon.com/Future-Noir-Making-Blade-Runner/dp/0061053147/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1313693627&sr=8-1

I am not the only one to think that Blade Runner is pretty awesome. Blade Runner was placed in the National Film Registry in 1993.

So let’s talk about Blade Runner? Love it? Hate it? Anything is good comment! Give me your thoughts, I will let you have them back I promise.

Have a better one!

 

 

About ikcewicasa

Ikcewicasa means common man in Lakota. I guess that describes me. I am turning 40 next year. I have a college degree and I have a professional job. The blog is just random stuff. I try and keep most of my posts humorous in nature sprinkled with a bit of American Indian items, soundtracks (which I love), food (something I also love) and movies (when I have the money and time to go see them. so basically ramblings that rattle around in my mind. Hope you enjoy. Like what you read? comment and re post. don't like what you read, let me know as well. ALL STORIES ON THIS SITE ARE ABSOLUTELY TRUE... EXCEPT THE PARTS I MAKE UP!
This entry was posted in Movies & Movie Scores. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to He Say, You Blade Runner

  1. james26354 says:

    I think it’s clear that what he intends to do is the same thing he’s doing with “Prometheus.” He will neither make a sequel, not a prequel, but rather a film that takes place in the same Universe. A spin-off, if you will. Therein making the possibilities limitless.

    At least I HOPE that’s what he’s doing. I don’t want anything lame happening with it. I’m sure Ridley wants to blow our minds, and that’s what I’m hoping for. A film that features other characters and only briefly spotlights Harrison Ford’s character Dekkard, is really more appealing. Scott had a script back in the 1990′s, I think called Metropolis — which was a film he was developing as a possible spin-off from Blade Runner. He may be intending to use that material. Or, he may intend to use one of the two classic S/F novels he more recently acquired the film rights to: “The Forever War” and “Brave New World.”

    Now I know what you’re thinking, sequel, remake, prequel, reboot … now SPIN-OFF !??

    What the shit !?? rofl

    But just hang in there. Whatever he does, he has a chance at making something utterly Fantastic !

    And if he doesn’t — we know where to find his balls.

Leave a Reply

