Heat Wave!

This is my island in the sun…. Oui!!!!

Man it is hot outside! Oh yea how hot is it?

So far Colorado has been spared the current heat wave plaguing North America. Even my Canadian friends are looking forward to winter and that is super harsh. It is not that Colorado never gets hot it is the nature of the heat. 100 degrees in Denver with 10% humidity is very different than 100 degrees and 80% or higher humidity that is experienced to the east of us. The human body has a natural cooling mechanism, sweat. The fact that we sweat does not cool us off but when sweat evaporates it cools the body. When the humidity is low the evaporative cooling works but in high humidity environments that cooling system is short circuited. The sweat forms and sticks on you. Not only does it stick on you the sweat heats up. The result is not only misery but could lead to real sickness and in extreme cases death.

The National Weather Service has come up with a handy chart that expresses heat index or as it is commonly called “feels like” Here in Denver we are lucky enough that the temp and heat index are usually the same. Take a look at this chart.

Heat stroke, sun stroke no matter what it is called is real and it is serious. I have experienced it more than a few times and although I obviously survived I have no wish to go through it again. Cold sweats, nausea, cramps, vomiting heat stroke is a nasty business and there are no warning signs. Resolution is relatively easy and no nonsense, get out of the sun, get into a room with A/C if possible, fans and or cool cloths will help, take water slowly. If you begin to vomit excessively get to a doctor. As with many environmental dangers it is the young, elderly and people with poor health that are most likely to experience problems. Please watch over your children, elderly relatives and neighbors till this heat wave breaks.

Conditions in Denver as I write this post are as follows

Temp 93

Humidity 11%

Yes it is hotter than I would like, I prefer 75 to 85 but at least it is a dry heat. And yes humidity matters. I love Colorado because the lack of humidity means that when the sun starts going down we actually cool off, by 7PM it will be 83 and cooler if we get an afternoon thunderstorm. The real cruelty of humidity is that it holds the heat in like a blanket, so even the nights are no relief.

Yea man but it’s a dry heat!

Shout it out peeps, what are you dealing with today.

About ikcewicasa

Ikcewicasa means common man in Lakota. I guess that describes me. I am turning 40 next year. I have a college degree and I have a professional job. The blog is just random stuff. I try and keep most of my posts humorous in nature sprinkled with a bit of American Indian items, soundtracks (which I love), food (something I also love) and movies (when I have the money and time to go see them. so basically ramblings that rattle around in my mind. Hope you enjoy. Like what you read? comment and re post. don't like what you read, let me know as well. ALL STORIES ON THIS SITE ARE ABSOLUTELY TRUE... EXCEPT THE PARTS I MAKE UP!
This entry was posted in Does this smell funny to you?, General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Heat Wave!

  1. Awwwwww you stole my post for the day!
    LOL!!
    Yes, the humidity makes a difference. I’ve been miserable in Missouri but when I was in Tucson, walking around in the sun in the afternoon with no hat, I still wasn’t as hot as I am here. It’s just so much dryer.
    But still fracking hot!

  2. That should be “drier,” ha ha. Hey, I’m tired!

Leave a Reply

