Meat Meat Meat Meat Meat Result WIN!

Ok the test is over and I got to savor the fantastic results.

Yes I got steaks that had intense flavor and a nice crusty outside and a near perfect inside. These steaks were thinner than I usually grill so mine was a bit overcooked, but even then it was delightful.

The secret to awesome steak house steaks is dry aging the beef. Aging the beef removes excess moisture. Aged beef is expensive because some of the initial volume at purchase is removed by the dry aging process. To replicate dry aging you must do something that goes against all previous rules of grilling steaks, they must spend a half hour to an hour in the freezer right before they hit the grill. The reason for this is to draw moisture from the steaks.

Prep the steaks by rubbing them with a mixture or salt and corn starch, both substances will draw moisture and putting them in the freezer for a bit just enhances the drying process. Once you pull the steaks out of the chiller they will have moisture actually pooled on the surface. Use paper towels to blot the moisture away ad some pepper and throw them on the hottest fire you can get in your grill.

I like my steaks medium rare and mine was medium well, not quite to my liking but the steak had a wonderful crispy sear on the very outside and a juicy intensely flavored inside, almost the perfect steak. Next time I will have higher quality meat and thicker steaks.

I would only try this on rib eyes, tbones, porterhouses, fillet, and strips. I do not think this would work with leaner cuts of meat.

Happy grilling everyone

About ikcewicasa

Ikcewicasa means common man in Lakota. I guess that describes me. I am turning 40 next year. I have a college degree and I have a professional job. The blog is just random stuff. I try and keep most of my posts humorous in nature sprinkled with a bit of American Indian items, soundtracks (which I love), food (something I also love) and movies (when I have the money and time to go see them. so basically ramblings that rattle around in my mind. Hope you enjoy. Like what you read? comment and re post. don't like what you read, let me know as well. ALL STORIES ON THIS SITE ARE ABSOLUTELY TRUE... EXCEPT THE PARTS I MAKE UP!
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Meat Meat Meat Meat Meat Result WIN!

  1. Arlee Bird says:

    All this steak talk is really making me crave a good steak.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  2. Bru says:

    I like a very tender steak that’s still kind of pink on the inside. But I haven’t eaten it in a long time.

  3. Um…YUM! I will definitely be trying this method the next time we grill steaks!

Leave a Reply

