Meat Meat Meat Meat Meat

Ok I am going to go a bit off the reservation today with a mini update and a food test. No no not for you, so relax breathe in through the mouth out through the nose. That’s better. The test is for me.

Yesterday Jonette found a killer deal on bone in rib eye steaks at King Soopers, you probably know them as Krogers. I love rib eyes. It is probably my favorite steak, other than a nice thick porterhouse. Unfortunately porterhouses are ridiculously expensive so getting my mitts on one of those babies is a rare occurrence indeed. Needless to say I love a good charred hunk-O-cow and strive to create a steak just like one would get at Ruth’s Chris or other high end steak house.

The problem with replicating a 40 to 60 dollar steak at home contains two primary obstacles.

  1. I do not have access to a professional grade high temperature broiler.
  2. I do not have a locker filled with dry aged beef.

I figured that I would never be able to overcome the above but thanks to Cooks Illustrated they claim to have found an easy way to put steaks on your home table that meet or exceed the product delivered at your local high end steak house.

So when I get home from work, Jonette has promised to have the steaks prepped and the flame pit lit for me to char some mammal flesh. If this works I will let all of you in on the secret.

Stay tuned, and for all you vegans out there.

About ikcewicasa

Ikcewicasa means common man in Lakota. I guess that describes me. I am turning 40 next year. I have a college degree and I have a professional job. The blog is just random stuff. I try and keep most of my posts humorous in nature sprinkled with a bit of American Indian items, soundtracks (which I love), food (something I also love) and movies (when I have the money and time to go see them. so basically ramblings that rattle around in my mind. Hope you enjoy. Like what you read? comment and re post. don't like what you read, let me know as well. ALL STORIES ON THIS SITE ARE ABSOLUTELY TRUE... EXCEPT THE PARTS I MAKE UP!
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

