Black Tooth the Kitty

Cinnamon has recently taken over the role of pain in the butt cat at my house. She is a Scottish fold cat and is getting very old. Long ago Jonette and I were at a cat show and found this little pathetic Scottish fold tabby cat and she was for sale. The breeder had named her Cintim but we decided to just call her Cinnamon. Her nickname soon became Minmins because of her size. The breeder sent us home with the kitten and a plastic container of raw meat. “We feed all our kittens raw meat.” The breeder exclaimed. Ever since we have had her we cannot open any container of raw meat of any kind without her appearing at our feet. She could be sound asleep in the other side of the house but open a package of hamburger and she is suddenly underfoot. This is a problem because she is a terrible ankle surfer and gets stepped on quite frequently.

She has trouble meowing, always has. Her most common voice is “ack!”, just like Bill the Cat from Bloom County. Until recently she would only truly sing out while going to or being at the vet. However she has recently taken to drinking water from the toilet and when she does so she shrieks loudly into the bowl. This is amusing till she performs this little stunt at 2 am. A few times being blasted out of bed by an amplified MEEEEYEEERO and the antics get a bit old.

She is fully armed and operational but to the best of my knowledge she has never scratched or bitten me or anyone else. She does have a defense mechanism that is very much like a squid but instead of ink she blows massive quantities of fur. Many trips to the vet have resulted in enough lose cat hair to create a blanket.

When Mins was very young she attached to me. This was great until she decided that 2am was a great time to need attention. She would stalk around my head and purr as loudly as possible. I would try and tell her to go bug Jonette but she would not listen to me. I could feel and hear Jonette giggling during these times when I was required to entertain the kitten in the middle of the night. Min’s love affair with me ended tragically when Jonette’s cat Chaucer scratched her eye. After 2k in surgery expenses I had to give her medicine for about 2 months. It did not take her long to associate me with the treatments, one of which caused her to foam at the mouth. I was no longer and never would be her favorite food and scritch dispensing unit. Jonette now had to put up with the 0 dark thirty demands for lovins, and I got to giggle. Deep down inside I still wish that I was her favorite but Min’s has never forgiven me. It is true that no good deed goes unpunished.

Now that Mins was infatuated with Jonette the diminutive little furball would try to sleep under the covers next to Jonette in bed. Now my cat Igamu was an extremely jealous creature. The bed was her territory and would not suffer the presence any other creatures. Igamu was also too smart for her own good and soon discovered that Mins would be snuggled under the covers next to Jonette. Igamu would walk up my legs cross over to Jonette and step directly onto Mins. This would cause Mins to immediately vacate the area. With Mins evicted Igamu would come back over to me for some scritches and a light scolding.

Mins is getting very old. She is having kidney problems and we can no longer get her teeth cleaned. Her teeth are now black, thus Black Tooth the Kitty. She spends most of her day sleeping, eating or begging for food or fresh water. She is eating and drinking constantly and losing weight. She is a sack of fur skin and bones and her eyesight is going… She has provided lots of laughs, and lots of love. As I prepare to say goodbye to a longtime friend I will remember her fondly.

About ikcewicasa

Ikcewicasa means common man in Lakota. I guess that describes me. I am turning 40 next year. I have a college degree and I have a professional job. The blog is just random stuff. I try and keep most of my posts humorous in nature sprinkled with a bit of American Indian items, soundtracks (which I love), food (something I also love) and movies (when I have the money and time to go see them. so basically ramblings that rattle around in my mind. Hope you enjoy. Like what you read? comment and re post. don't like what you read, let me know as well. ALL STORIES ON THIS SITE ARE ABSOLUTELY TRUE... EXCEPT THE PARTS I MAKE UP!
This entry was posted in Does this smell funny to you?. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Black Tooth the Kitty

  1. james26354 says:

    You should have her put to sleep before it gets worse. You don’t want her to die in the kind of pain she’s headed for.

    • ikcewicasa says:

      she really is fine right now. she will tell us when she is ready. animals do that. she is still eating, drinking, asking for attention. still jumping on the counters and making a general pest of herself.

  2. Bru says:

    Awww, poor little Min. She sounds like a lovely kitty.

Leave a Reply

