Slug Bug, rules for a new century

Slug Bug is an old and simple game. Volkswagen has even incorporated the game into its advertising, as Slug Dub. The original game, if you do not know, was that if someone saw a Volkswagen beetle they would announce the color and slug the person next to them. Volkswagen expanded the game to include all Volkswagen vehicles. Simple, straight forward slug bug is a good distraction for long road trips. My wife Jonette and I play this game. I cannot slug Jonette so I play by lightly tapping her on the leg. “Red one!”

Now Jonette does not play games, she hates to lose and will do anything in her power to make sure she wins. Cheating is always an option for her and if that does not work, she stops playing. The transformation of Slug Bug into a complex impossible to win game is partially my fault. It is a scientific fact that the common goldfish has a memory of about 2 seconds. Just watch any goldfish and inevitably the goldfish will gasp in amazement every two seconds even if they are enclosed in a small fish bowl. WOW! Pause WOW! Pause WOW! Gold fish will do this until they end up floating upside down and take the long trip down the sewers. I was playful one day and spotted a red beetle so I tapped Jonette, “Red One!” then I said “goldfish rules” and continued tapping her leg every 2 seconds until I could no longer see the slug bug. After explaining the properties of goldfish memory she latched onto a way to “win” slug bug. Her solution more rules…

In an effort to make sure Jonette wins every game of slug bug. Here are Jonette’s fool proof rules to winning.

  1. VW Beetle (Slug Bug) – 2 taps
  2. Any other VW – 1 tap
  3. Red Beetle – Gold Fish rules apply
  4. Lt Green Beetle – Hammy rules apply – hammy is the hyperactive squirrel from Over the Hedge, fast rapid tapping.
  5. Red Beetle convertible – Gold Fish rules apply plus xxxx
  6. Green Beetle convertible – Hammy rules apply plus xxxx
  7. Prius – SMUG Bug rules apply – 1 nuggy

*XXXX just states that there are further actions to be determined by Jonette at the time of acquiring a matching VW target vehicle.

In a further attempt to win at all costs there is the.

Parking lot rules – Upon entering a parking lot, 1 tap. There is got to be a VW somewhere in there.

Errors – Take Back rules apply (errors in identification, application of correct rules, etc)

The above rules only apply to Jonette, except the take back and error rules, those only apply to me. Jonette is now busy creating more and more rules and not informing me of them. I may tap Jonette but she hauls off and nails me. My shoulder is all bruised and I am suffering. Slug bug is no fun for me. Jonette, on the other hand, is having a grand ole time beating the crap out of me every time we are in the car.

About ikcewicasa

Ikcewicasa means common man in Lakota. I guess that describes me. I am turning 40 next year. I have a college degree and I have a professional job. The blog is just random stuff. I try and keep most of my posts humorous in nature sprinkled with a bit of American Indian items, soundtracks (which I love), food (something I also love) and movies (when I have the money and time to go see them. so basically ramblings that rattle around in my mind. Hope you enjoy. Like what you read? comment and re post. don't like what you read, let me know as well. ALL STORIES ON THIS SITE ARE ABSOLUTELY TRUE... EXCEPT THE PARTS I MAKE UP!
This entry was posted in Does this smell funny to you?. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slug Bug, rules for a new century

  1. ZG says:

    LOL she sounds like my kind of woman! The only rule I grew up with is “Slug bug no slug back” where if I slug Zack first and he slugs me back then I get to slug him 10 more times for basically trying to “win” too.

    For awhile we had a PT Cruiser game too (they got really popular for awhile). Whoever saw the PT Cruiser first and announced it got to change the radio station to whatever they wanted…never worked while driving with my dad though…

  2. Bru says:

    Bwaa ha ha ha!
    We used to play this in the car, but my parents made us stop because the slugging always turned into fighting.

Leave a Reply

