Ikcewicasa’s road trip through hell pt. 2

Saturday morning dawns. By 9 am there is still no sign of Alice and Bob. Phone calls to their number go straight to VM. Jonette and I resort to eating again at the dive across the street. At 11:30 Alice and Bob call back. They just woke up. Once again I have to wonder what “bright and early” means in California. We have a long trip to Napa and dinner reservations at some joint in the valley. It was all arranged by Alice. At around Noon they roll up and we all dive into the Lexus. Alice is very proud of her Lexus even prouder of it than her collection of dead cell phones.

The first part of the trip is over the Golden Gate Bridge, Awesome! But guess what. Alice again refuses to stop so we can take pictures or anything else. My exposure to the bridge is just like China Town and Fisherman’s Wharf, I get to experience it from the rear seat of the Lexus. Since Alice did not want to go over the Golden Gate she asked us to pay for the toll. Bob said absolutely not and paid the cash. The atmosphere in the car became icy. But the weather outside my metal, glass, and plastic mobile prison was great, bright and clear for our drive to Napa.

Napa, or what I saw of it was very pretty. Most of my views were from the car as Alice pointed out various wineries as we zipped by them at highway speeds. By the time we got to Domaine Chandon both Jonette and I needed to get out of the Lexus and stretch our legs and get some air. Once we got Alice to stop we had a chance to go on a wine tour. Alice cried that she had been on so many tours she did not want to go on another. By this time we no longer cared what Alice wanted. We ignored her and signed up for the next tour that was starting in 15 minutes. Alice refused to join us and decided to go sulk with Bob saying that she would be back to pick us up when the tour was over.

The wine tour was fantastic, we had a great time and learned a lot. Domaine Chandon makes sparkling wine, not champagne. There is an international law that states champagne can only be made in the Champagne region of France. The treaty was created and signed in the 1920’s and due to prohibition in the US we never signed the treaty. Even though the United States is not bound by the treaty the winery makes it very clear that they make Sparkling Wine and not Champagne. I think that is right decent of them. As James May and Oz Clark would say… “That is a wine fact!” We finished the tour and a couple samples of their sparkling wine. We also had some wine shipped home to Colorado.

We left the winery and scanned the parking lot. No Lexus, No Bob and No Alice. We spent a few minutes looking around for them. Across the street there was a fort/stockade looking building. It was a shopping center of some sort so we dodged the traffic across the highway to see what was over there. It was almost closing time and most of the shops were shutting down for the evening, except for a store that offered more wine tasting. Jonette and I sat down and ordered a large baguette and started going through the wine list. It was not long before we were both completely pissed. Bob showed up. “We have been looking all over for you guys” he stated. So much for the 1st of 2 best parts of the trip.

It was almost time for our dinner reservations. Jonette and I were both extremely hammered and after eating that huge baguette at the wine shop, not very hungry. We arrived at the little restaurant. Alice had to make a big show about how important she was to the hostess and we were seated. I believe I had elk fillet medallions and pasta. I think Jonette had a lobster dish of some sort. I am allergic to anything that is harder on the outside than the inside so lobster, shrimp, clams, crabs, oysters etc. are not in my diet. We get done with the meal and the check arrives. Signaling Alice to put on another show…. She has a coupon for the restaurant but she left it back in San Francisco. Jonette and I were too drunk to give a damn about 20 minutes of Alice arguing with the waitress and the hostess and the manager. I believe it ended up with her not getting the discount and she storming out loudly claiming that she would never return. We get up and follow her out to the car too drunk to be embarrassed we giggled.

It is late and we have reservations at a local Holiday Inn. We get there and it is not a two room suite but a room and another room with a hide-a-way bed. Bob wants us to take the bedroom but Jonette says NO we will sleep on the hide-a-way. It was a good move on her part since we are early risers and they think early is 11 am. We bed down and listen as Alice and Bob have a huge argument in the other room.

Merciful sleep falls but tomorrow is all too near.

About ikcewicasa

Ikcewicasa means common man in Lakota. I guess that describes me. I am turning 40 next year. I have a college degree and I have a professional job. The blog is just random stuff. I try and keep most of my posts humorous in nature sprinkled with a bit of American Indian items, soundtracks (which I love), food (something I also love) and movies (when I have the money and time to go see them. so basically ramblings that rattle around in my mind. Hope you enjoy. Like what you read? comment and re post. don't like what you read, let me know as well. ALL STORIES ON THIS SITE ARE ABSOLUTELY TRUE... EXCEPT THE PARTS I MAKE UP!
This entry was posted in Does this smell funny to you?. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ikcewicasa’s road trip through hell pt. 2

  1. james26354 says:

    I think you finally got to the point that you were handling the situation appropriately. If that’s the way those people operate — give them a taste of their own medicine. They never do what they say they will, and they never stop being ill-mannered — so imitate them and see how long they before they notice. LOL the perrrfect form of revenge.

  2. Bambi says:

    I think you should have ordered a bottle of two for a “night cap” and totally toasted the evening! But you did a fine job it looks like…. 🙂

  3. Mom says:

    Enjoyed hearing of your adventure. Your writing skills are outstanding! Anxiously waiting for more.

  4. Bru says:

    Hee hee hee. that’s how I saw the Golden Gate bridge too, from the back of a car. it was still pretty neat driving over it.

Leave a Reply

