Ok so… what now?

Osama is dead.

I went to sleep last night before the news broke and was informed by my wife when she got home and into bed at 3AM.

Osama is dead.

I think I was to asleep at the time to really react to what I was told. I was not sleeping very good last night. I woke up this morning and yes it is true.

Osama is dead.

The morning did not bring revelation or much feeling in me one way or another. Yes I, along with so many Americans, watched in horror as the events in New York unfolded a decade ago. I was angry and saddened by the destruction of the World Trade Center. I wanted revenge.

Osama is dead.

I do not feel relief. I do not feel joy. I do not feel closure. I certainly do not feel pity. He declared me his enemy, someone worthy of death even though he has never met me and I am not responsible for whatever his complaints are. He wants me dead because I do not follow Islam or more to the point his particular flavor of Islam. I prefer my faith to be less blood thirsty and less concerned about what others believe, but hey that is just me.

Osama is dead.

I am not running into the street cheering USA USA USA! I am not dancing or celebrating his death even though he surely deserved it. I feel amazingly numb about the whole thing. The world looks and feels the same to me today as it did yesterday. I think that the world is better off with him not living on it. I am happy for those that can receive closure. I wish I could.

Osama is dead

But so are all those killed in the attacks on Sept 11th.

Osama is dead

Unfortunately his organization and the evil hatred it breeds is still very much alive.

Osama is dead.

May you rot in whatever hell you created for yourself.

Osama is dead.

At least in the end maybe your bloating corpse will feed some fish, bring one tiny spec of good and decency into this world.

Osama is dead.

About ikcewicasa

Ikcewicasa means common man in Lakota. I guess that describes me. I am turning 40 next year. I have a college degree and I have a professional job. The blog is just random stuff. I try and keep most of my posts humorous in nature sprinkled with a bit of American Indian items, soundtracks (which I love), food (something I also love) and movies (when I have the money and time to go see them. so basically ramblings that rattle around in my mind. Hope you enjoy. Like what you read? comment and re post. don't like what you read, let me know as well. ALL STORIES ON THIS SITE ARE ABSOLUTELY TRUE... EXCEPT THE PARTS I MAKE UP!
This entry was posted in Political Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ok so… what now?

  1. Arlee Bird says:

    I’m with you on this– you expressed the feelings that I have. People are celebrating today, but later they will wake up to see that not much has really changed and now maybe it will be worse. I don’t know. But I stopped thinking about Osama a long time ago. There is more to all of this than one man.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  2. ZG says:

    I agree 100% with everything you said. 100%.

  3. james26354 says:

    Good writing, David. Very good writing. And well said; I agree with every word of it.

Leave a Reply

