I’ll Buy That for a Dollar!

Ok maybe I am being cynical here but in a quiet way the Federal Reserve has released a new Sacajawea dollar coin. You know that gold monstrosity that nobody seems to want. Yep there is a new one for all of you to complain about.

Today B.B. Craig, United States Mint Associate Director of Dales and Marking; Craig must have a massive business card, and leaders of the Wampanoag Nation introduced the 2011 Native American $1 Coin today at a ceremony at Plimouth Plantation in MA.

Here have a good look at it.

The front is the same coin you all hate but the back honors the first treaty created between Native people and the new settlers. I am glad that the Wampanoag are being honored and recognized but honoring a treaty? Yay lets honor the first of hundreds of treaties that will be struck between Native nations and America. The same treaties that America never intended to honor in the first place.

I will call this the Original Broken Promise Coin. I am not sure exactly what is worth honoring here. The Wampanoag people yes the treaty, well not so much. Then again I guess it makes sense. What kind of honor is it to be put on a coin that is universally loathed? This just drips with irony in every way.

If America wanted to honor us they should actually honor the treaty that is being honored. Now that would be a switch.

To my Wampanoag relatives, you deserve better.

To the American Government, thanks for yet another epic fail. Bravo!!!!!

About ikcewicasa

Ikcewicasa means common man in Lakota. I guess that describes me. I am turning 40 next year. I have a college degree and I have a professional job. The blog is just random stuff. I try and keep most of my posts humorous in nature sprinkled with a bit of American Indian items, soundtracks (which I love), food (something I also love) and movies (when I have the money and time to go see them. so basically ramblings that rattle around in my mind. Hope you enjoy. Like what you read? comment and re post. don't like what you read, let me know as well. ALL STORIES ON THIS SITE ARE ABSOLUTELY TRUE... EXCEPT THE PARTS I MAKE UP!
This entry was posted in Native Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

