A Matter of Respect.

I found a new blog today. It is brilliant and displays really bad Indian inspired artwork. The site is a riot and I added a link to it on the blogroll. You will find it there on the left hand side. While you are checking it out please also visit the other blogs I have there. Where were we? Oh yes Indian inspired art. The new blog had a link to a post about hipsters. I love to point and laugh at them but this one was about a new way that some hipsters are being “ironic”. Some of them think wearing headdresses is…. Well I do not know what they think but I do know what I think about it.

Stop it. It is not ironic, it is not interesting, just take the headdress off if for no other reason than wearing a fake headdress makes you look like an idiot, it does not honor us. If you are wearing real eagle feathers on your head and you do not have a federal permit, you are looking at a lighter wallet and or some personal time with Bubba your cell mate.

One commenter asked an interesting question. Even though most people who wear such things as headdresses and feathers to sporting events and concerts are massive douche bags, there are some people out there who really want to honor Indian people. If you are one of the few people who want to respect and honor Indians but do not know how to do it, this post is for you.

I will start with what not to wear and do.

  1. We have already established that wearing turkey or chicken feathers in your hair or a headdress is not correct.
  2. Skimpy leather clothing, yes it exists, yes I have seen fringed leather Indian inspired designs of bras, tiny skirts and even fringed underwear for the savage lover roll play in the bedroom.
  3. Face paint, I am not talking about painting up for your favorite sports team but the war paint type stuff
  4. We do not walk down the street covered in feathers, leather, beads, and fringe, yes it will impress and entertain any cats you may pass but no one else will take you seriously.

So now comes the good part. Is there any way someone can honor Indian people without looking like a mobile cat entertainment system? Why yes, yes there is.

There are many very good Indian artists out there that would be more than happy to sell you a piece of jewelry, article of clothing to wear or, painting, sculpture or other artwork for your home. When you buy from Indian artists you will get an authentic and quality item in return. You will also be supporting Indian communities.

To find Indian artists, find a pow wow. Many artists will be selling their items there.

Travel to the reservations. This is the best way to go about it. That way you can meet and speak with the artists and purchase work directly from them.

Most Nations have their own art coops, guilds and cultural centers. Look for them online.

Native art shows are also popular and a good way to get authentic art.

If you are looking for something ask. There are hundreds of unique nations and cultures so I cannot provide an overall list, but ask and I will see what I can do.

About ikcewicasa

Ikcewicasa means common man in Lakota. I guess that describes me. I am turning 40 next year. I have a college degree and I have a professional job. The blog is just random stuff. I try and keep most of my posts humorous in nature sprinkled with a bit of American Indian items, soundtracks (which I love), food (something I also love) and movies (when I have the money and time to go see them. so basically ramblings that rattle around in my mind. Hope you enjoy. Like what you read? comment and re post. don't like what you read, let me know as well. ALL STORIES ON THIS SITE ARE ABSOLUTELY TRUE... EXCEPT THE PARTS I MAKE UP!
This entry was posted in Native Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

