Ikce Wicasa Special Post – John Barry 1933 to 2011

I have interrupted the powwow series to honor John Barry, Composer died of a heart attack in New York. He was 77 years old.

Barry was most famous for his 11 Bond scores and won Oscars for

  • Born Free –best original song
  • Born Free best original score
  • The Lion in Winter best original score
  • Out of Africa best original score
  • Dances with Wolves best original score

I have always describe his music as “big and fluffy” Many times his grand soring themes lifted even truly terrible films that had no business using such great music. The Black Hole, Raise the Titanic, and the 1974 version of King Kong are examples of films that, with all due respect, were so horrible that the score was the only reason to suffer through them. I am sure there were others but those are the 3 that immediately come to mind. He remains one of my favorite composers.

Pila miya yelo (Thank you) John for the music and may you rest in peace.

About ikcewicasa

Ikcewicasa means common man in Lakota. I guess that describes me. I am turning 40 next year. I have a college degree and I have a professional job. The blog is just random stuff. I try and keep most of my posts humorous in nature sprinkled with a bit of American Indian items, soundtracks (which I love), food (something I also love) and movies (when I have the money and time to go see them. so basically ramblings that rattle around in my mind. Hope you enjoy. Like what you read? comment and re post. don't like what you read, let me know as well. ALL STORIES ON THIS SITE ARE ABSOLUTELY TRUE... EXCEPT THE PARTS I MAKE UP!
This entry was posted in Movies & Movie Scores. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ikce Wicasa Special Post – John Barry 1933 to 2011

  1. Jim_A says:

    High Road to China !

    he will be missed. Especially by those of us who appreciated his unique sound.

Leave a Reply

