Buffet for Coyote

My wife used to work for Digital. Her job was to sell computer equipment and her primary customer was Rocky Flats. The plant produced plutonium triggers used in the manufacture of hydrogen bombs. Rocky Flats is now dismantled and we are told that the area is now clean and is a wildlife refuge. The area is not exactly safe for humans but safe enough for deer and other animals. I wonder who works that out?

Rocky Flats is near The Peoples Republik of Boulder, aka Berkley East. Farmers and ranchers around the area have been fighting prairie dogs for years and the local animal rights groups were very upset at some of the eradication techniques. Ranchers and developers would use poison or gas to remove the critters. One spectacular removal procedure uses a flammable gas which is pumped into the prairie dog holes and then it is ignited. The results are quite impressive. One current removal technique calls for using a giant prairie dog vacuum and just sucking them out of their holes. Well the save the prairie dog groups decided that the best way to remove them is live trapping and relocation.

The animal group would collect a weeks’ worth of prairie dogs and every Sunday at 10:00 am they would go to the west fence of the Rocky Flats site and release them into the wild to live free prairie dog lives. I am sure that they would then gather at one of the many vegan locavor places to eat at a raw bar, pat themselves on the back, and congratulate themselves on how socially and environmentally enlightened they are. It became a Sunday tradition for the group and for others.

Coyotes are many things but stupid they are not. They learn and adapt fast and Sunday mornings at Rocky Flats became a tradition for them as well. Each Sunday dozens of local coyotes would hang out on the other side of the ridge and wait patiently for the cars to pull up and release the captured prairie dogs. As soon as the animal lovers had released their captives and drove away in their Subarus, the true prairie dog lovers topped the ridge, descended, and proceeded to enjoy a nice brunch. You go Wile E you have earned it.

About ikcewicasa

Ikcewicasa means common man in Lakota. I guess that describes me. I am turning 40 next year. I have a college degree and I have a professional job. The blog is just random stuff. I try and keep most of my posts humorous in nature sprinkled with a bit of American Indian items, soundtracks (which I love), food (something I also love) and movies (when I have the money and time to go see them. so basically ramblings that rattle around in my mind. Hope you enjoy. Like what you read? comment and re post. don't like what you read, let me know as well. ALL STORIES ON THIS SITE ARE ABSOLUTELY TRUE... EXCEPT THE PARTS I MAKE UP!
This entry was posted in Does this smell funny to you?. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Buffet for Coyote

  1. I doubt they will see this, but I hope they do. The road to Hell is paved with good intentions. :)

Leave a Reply

